This entry, i made sometime back on my previous blog and just felt this is the right time to re-post it again … for this is the kind of phase i am in these days and i dontknow many songs that can reflect my mood better than this song right now. One of the greatest songs ever, and its a song that is right there in my heart … just like ‘You’ are ….  and for this reason i feel thissong is almost true reflection of my state of mind. Perhaps with the exception of the last line of the song when it says “Oh…love…to stay with you I’d be a fool Sweetheart…you’re so cruel” –

 Besides that – this song is my life – the fact that this song remains in my top 3 u2 songs of all time and the fun bit is 2 out of 3 songs, i ve always associated them with myself for some unknown reasons, which now almost have become reality. This is for You … yet this is not the final word. I will not give up. Yet …. All i want is You.

I have been asked a few times listing my top U2 favourite songs and i ve almost always managed to name my top 4 straight ahead. So Cruel is one of them and it surprises most of the people. This Song was recorded on the U2 epic, ‘ACHTUNG BABY‘ and is possibly, the most underrated song of the entire U2 discography, or so i think atleast. Not a most recognizeable song but then as i mentioned, one of the very rare U2 song which talks about relationship and only relationship.

Love/hatred/possessiveness/jeaoulsy/betrayal … all of it is SO evident in this song. Bono wrote one of the most poignant and moving lyrics of his life in this song. They just hit the right chords in such a manner the listener is in a trance, and shaking by the end of song, his body intense, thoughts swirling wildly in mind … this song is coming from a mind which is at its most restless and most volatile and disturbed. Its a dangerous song. and Danger is good. So is this song. This song is Good, or perhaps , much more than that. much more than any amount of words can do justice to what this song is. Next time, play it at 1:30am, switch off the lights and let it go on a loop. Experience the ‘So Cruel’ phase. Its phenomenal. its unbelieveable. its mindblowing.Its stirring. Its nostalgic. Its extraordinary. Its brooding, and above all,  Its painful …. most painful … so mcuh so it makes me cry. Yet, i love it all. the way i love You. So Cruel

We crossed the line
Who pushed who over
It doesn’t matter to you
It matters to me

We’re cut adrift
But still floating
I’m only hanging on
To watch you go down
My love

I disappeared in you
You disappeared from me
I gave you everything you ever wanted
It wasn’t what you wanted

The men who love you, you hate the most
They pass right through you like a ghost
They look for you but your spirit is in the air
Baby, you’re nowhere

Oh…love…you say in love there are no rules
Oh…love…sweetheart…
You’re so cruel

Desperation is a tender trap
It gets you every time
You put your lips to her lips
To stop the lie

Her skin is pale like God’s only dove
Screams like an angel for your love
Then she makes you watch her from above
And you need her like a drug

Oh…love…you say in love there are no rules
Oh…love…sweetheart…
You’re so cruel

She wears my love like a see-through dress
Her lips say one thing
Her movements something else
Oh love…like a screaming flower
Love…dying every hour…love

You don’t know if it’s fear or desire
Danger the drug that takes you higher
Head in heaven, fingers in the mire

Her heart is racing, you can’t keep up
The night is bleeding like a cut
Between the horses of love and lust
We are trampled underfoot

Oh…love…you say in love there are no rules
Oh…love…sweetheart…
You’re so cruel

Oh…love…to stay with you I’d be a fool
Sweetheart…you’re so cruel

You could listen to Achtung Baby every which way. You could turn it upside-down. You could look at it from a dozen different angels. It doesnt matter. No matter what wa you come at it, there is blood on the tracks. And nowhere is this more evident than in the ballad ‘So Cruel’
Introduction to SO CRUEL taken from ‘U2 – into the heart by Niall Stokes’
 

